RSS

Cool Stuff on Other Blogs

27 May

This is a quick “Kalamazoo Session Report Break.” I’ve written reports on exactly half the sessions I’ve attended and yes, I will finish – have started a draft of the 6th session I attended already. Session Reports won’t suffer the fate of my promised but unfulfilled Peter Heather Book Report.

But for whatever reason, I’ve recently had a major uptick in my site traffic and on the off chance that people have been to my blog but missed some others, I want to post links to three extremely interesting topics from three of my favorite blogs.

Working chronologically, oldest to newest, check out Jonathan Jarrett’s post on the Pictish language. I’m a detail person (translation – sometimes an anal-retentive, obsessive-compulsive personality) and Jonathan always includes a lot of that in his posts – detail, not personality neuroses. This is one I need to really study – LOTS of info.

Steve Muhlberger has the start of what looks to be a very interesting discussion of Medieval Maritime military transport – complete with what looks like the precursor to amphibious assault ships? Stay tuned on this one. I have several sources sitting here and plan on checking them out just in case I have something to contribute. Looked at William of Malmesbury and William of Tyre last night and struck out but I’m not done yet. 1

Last but not least, Magistra, who runs a blog I really enjoy, has a report on some of the first papers discussing the Staffordshire Hoard. I won’t have the chance to look into this one in any depth until tonight but she always puts up high quality posts and this sure looks like it meets that standard.

Thanks to everyone who’s checked out my blog – if you haven’t already I strongly suggest you take a look at this information from people who actually know what they’re talking about.

1 Someone more familiar with these two should still look them over – I based my search on the indexes and when you’re looking at 19th century editions, well, maybe indexing hadn’t reached its height yet.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2010 in Other Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Cool Stuff on Other Blogs

  1. Jonathan Jarrett

    May 27, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Thankyou for the link, Carl; in this field, I think that am only someone who knew half of what he was talking about ten years ago, but sadly that was all I needed here. As for your rising popularity, your reasoned and thorough Kalamazoo write-ups are probably helping, not least because of being full of search terms for the robots to crunch on. I'll certainly be linking them when I finally get that far.

     
  2. Medieval History Geek

    May 28, 2010 at 3:35 am

    Well, other than not being Carl – either the guy who finds the cool pictures like the dude laying eggs or the monkey with a cannon or the language guy – thanks. :) I'm planning to put all my Kalamazoo-related posts on a separate page (links to them anyway) once I finish to simplify things for anyone who wants to find them.

     
  3. Jonathan Jarrett

    May 28, 2010 at 10:43 am

    Gah, I'm sorry Curt. Almost everything I've done with the Internet lately betrays the fact that I need more sleep. Carl 'the language guy' is an old friend of mine and having him suddenly pop up in my part of the Internet has obviously confused me. Shan't happen again (I hope).

     
  4. Medieval History Geek

    May 28, 2010 at 10:54 am

    Don't worry about it – or feel like you need to apologize. I don't – I've done the same thing. Makes for a nice chuckle and that's it.Now if you mis-attribute something I've published . . . But since I don't see you using, "The Development of a Statewide Agrosecurity Team" in any of your work, I doubt that's ever an issue either.

     
  5. Jonathan Jarrett

    May 31, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Even with an interest on frontier agriculturalists who appeal to a public landownership to justify their holdings, I doubt the parallels are strong enough to make it into the footnotes :-) But hey, if you think different, pass it on…

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers

