RSS

Cool Stuff on Other Blogs III

19 Nov

I should subtitle this, “and Cool New Blogs.” Meaning blogs I just found out about, not newly created.

At the moment I have nothing to say but some time to say it. This is a perilous situation but I will attempt to avoid boring you all.

My first kudos goes to Michelle Ziegler. Michelle has her excellent blog on the Early Medieval British Isles, Heavenfield. She also has a second blog, Contagions. I happen to not have this on my blog list because about 80% of the content is well over my head. I mean, I took Epi in college but along with Physics and Advanced Calculus I seem to have eradicated it from my brain. But every so often she posts a Round-up. These are very interesting, even when none of my stuff is mentioned, and this time it introduced me to four new blogs I’m planning to pay attention to.

First up is Kristina Killgrove’s Roman DNA Project Blog. There are a couple of reasons I’m interested in this, even though it’s before my period. First is that how the Empire was populated is interesting in and of itself. Second is that DNA evidence is coming up quite frequently in Medieval research and by following a project from its beginning (If I can – I didn’t donate) I should be able to learn a lot about methodology. As I’ve said before, this is not so I can go out and do my own research, which I expect to never do, but so I can better assess the validity of an argument when I read it.

Rosemary Joyce has a blog, Ancient Bodies, Ancient Lives which seems (I’ve just started reading it) to be about archaeological evidence disclosing the roles of gender, in particular women, in ancient societies. I’ve always been fascinated in trying to find out (from a reading what other people write perspective) what happened to two massively underrepresented groups, peasants and women. While for her blog ancient does indeed seem to cover the ancient period, women were just as underrepresented in pretty much all of history and going earlier will still be very interesting.

Senchus is a blog about Early Medieval Scotland authored by Tim Clarkson and I’ll just say that I’m a bit embarrassed that I didn’t already know of it.

I think I’m going to enjoy reading Bones Don’t Lie. Katie Meyers is a PhD student at Michigan State and it looks like she knows her stuff.

So thanks Michelle!

Gabriele from The Lost Fort always has excellent posts with great pictures. She has two posts which cover historic sites including a lot of reconstructed Germanic (sorry Goffart!) buildings, bridges, etc. Really good stuff.

As always, it seems, I can’t do one of these without mentioning Jonathan Jarrett. Even though I don’t know enough about it to comment, his opening report on Leeds has some fabulous pictures of Whitby Abbey. If Jonathan ever gets tired of this Medieval stuff he might do pretty well as a photo journalist (He could get some serious competition from Gabriele). He does far better with images than I could ever hope to and these are particularly good when he breaks out his camera.

And yet again, one of the things I got from this post, based on clicking on the links for some of the comments, ended up being two things; new blogs to follow. I really need to mine Jonathan’s Blogroll one of these days.

First up is L’Historien Errant. Christian Opitz says his main focus is Late Medieval which makes it several hundred years later than mine but I was impressed enough by the quality of the posts to want to start reading what he has to say, whether I understand much of it or not.

Slouching Towards Extimacy looks to have an Anglo-Saxon focus. I couldn’t find out who the author was so either he/she wishes to remain anonymous or I couldn’t figure out where to look. Of course I had to look up what “extimacy” means but it’s such a cool word. Looks like a pretty cool blog too. And give me a break – 15 years ago I didn’t know what exegesis meant. 1

I wasn’t going to focus on Jonathan’s most recent post about Richard Hodges’ book on the Vikings but it was through comments on that post that I found Norse and Viking Ramblings authored by Viqueen. I have not read a ton on them but I have several books on the Vikings and am interested in them and figuring out their impacts on Western Europe, in particular (for now, I always find more to be interested in when I start reading) on the evolution of fortifications in Western Europe. From scanning the first page of posts I think this is another gold mine.

So thanks again Jonathan – not just for the great posts but for helping me find some other terrific blogs.

I had a bit more to add but this seems long enough for now. I may follow up in a couple of days with a bit more. But reading three posts and finding seven new blogs? That’s a pretty good couple of days there.

1 Another broken vow. I swore when I started this blog to never use “exegesis” or “exegetical” in a post. I suppose I’ll just have to remember not to use it in a historical context or in a review while discussing how the author examines texts.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 19, 2011 in Other Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Cool Stuff on Other Blogs III

  1. Michelle Ziegler

    November 20, 2011 at 5:58 am

    How about joining twitter and you could follow all these and more pretty easily? I really enjoy twitter. Sounds like I need to start explaining my posts better…

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    November 20, 2011 at 7:03 am

    Your posts are fine – I'm not just into the microbiology, genotype, allelopathy, etc. side of things. Besides, germs are icky. ;)You're stealing my idea for another post. Or at least a piece of one. I have a feeling if I did twitter I'd have to have a phone that could support it.

     
  3. Anonymous

    November 21, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I love your blog! Thanks for the heads up for other cool blogs as well. Thank you!

     
  4. Curt Emanuel

    November 21, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    Thank you – and you're quite welcome.

     
  5. ealuscerwen

    November 22, 2011 at 3:11 am

    I remember when I started grad school (after returning to school following a ten-year break whilst I did other career-ish things) — I vowed not to do several things that I found annoying and/or pretentious. This included the use of colons in the titles of my seminar papers, unnecessary use of words like "epistemology" and "ontology," and sweeping references to the "poetics" of anything. By the time I finished my MA program, I had a thesis that sported both a subtitle AND the word "extimacy" in its title. A few years down the road, I find I am better at making my points in more widely-accessible language than I had at hand when I attempted a Lacanian reading of monstrosity; I also find that I have to use more words to do so. So I've come down on the (non?)side of "vocab depends on context." (In retrospect, however, I do think my thesis title was pretentious, and since I named my blog after my thesis, I guess the blog title is pretentious too. But I have never changed it – I guess because I still think it just *sounds* kind of cool [at least if you are, like me, a fan of both Yeats and trochees.])Anyway, cool blog, and nice to "meet" you!

     
  6. Curt Emanuel

    November 22, 2011 at 3:44 am

    I don't know if it's pretentious or not but it is a seriously (really don't want to say cool again here) interesting title for a blog. Beats mine though to be honest, when I started I wasn't sure what this blog was going to be so I just named it after my new self-appointed title. And aren't all blogs a bit pretentious anyway? If you blog you've decided that you have something worth saying and, what's more, someone will want to read it.

     
  7. Jonathan Jarrett

    December 1, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    It is Scott Adams's First Prerequisite of Blogging, the conviction: "Wow, the world sure needs a lot more of ME!" My pleasure with the blog-roll, glad someone's using it!If this gets through, by the way, it'll be the first comment I've been able to leave on Blogger successfully for a week; I tried saying the above a few days ago and had to give up. Sorry!

     
  8. Curt Emanuel

    December 1, 2011 at 11:06 pm

    I LIKE that – gonna have to use it. Not sure what's up with comments. Probably has something to do with a Google quest for world domination or something.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers

