RSS

2012 Kalamazoo Schedule is Up

21 Jan

The schedule for the 2012 International Congress on Medieval Studies at Western Michigan University is available online. This year’s Congress will be held May 10-13 in Kalamazoo, Michigan.

As usual, I expect registration will be up on February 1 and also as usual, I expect to register within a day or two of being able to. I could subject all of you to yet another round of my geekery about this conference but instead I’ll simply say that even if you’re just getting started in learning about the Middle Ages, I think you should consider attending. It’s relatively inexpensive and the sessions provide a wide range of subject matter. For myself, I’m psyched that the first two Society for Late Antiquity Sessions are right in my wheelhouse as far as what I’m reading now.

If you really want to subject yourself to my previously referenced geekery, take a look at my Kalamazoo page.

Initially I thought I might wait a bit before registering but my hip surgery recuperation has gone far better than I expected. I may not be able to walk to sessions from Valley (though I might – hard to say) but I’m pretty confident that I can make my way from my car to any sessions and wander through the book exhibit without much trouble.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2012 in Conferences

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “2012 Kalamazoo Schedule is Up

  1. John M.

    January 31, 2012 at 12:32 am

    Hey there Curt,

    I am a fellow historical enthusiast and also a perspective history teacher in the near future. I enjoy learning about the Middle Ages, but i have not read extensively on the subject. A friend of mine told me to read “A World Lit Only By Fire,” which i did, and at first found it an enjoyable read, but to my dismay, much of the book seems historically inaccurate (Not to mention Manchester nearly on his death bed when he wrote it).

    Are there any books that you would recommend to get a good start on the subject? I am really looking for a general history of the Middle Ages that is historically accurate and a good read.

    any suggestions would be great!

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    January 31, 2012 at 6:56 am

    The problem with the Medieval period is it covered a thousand years (for me over 1200) over a broad geographic area. That said, as a first book to read on it, I’d recommend Barbara Rosenwein’s A Short History of the Middle Ages. The reading lists at the end of chapters provide some nice suggestions for followup.

    Because of the complexity of the subject it’s hard (I’d say impossible but maybe someone could do it) to become an expert on the entire period. If you end up being fascinated by it and decide on an aspect or aspects which you want to look into more deeply, let me know and I’ll either suggest some additional stuff to read or try to refer you elsewhere to someone who knows that topic.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 174 other followers

