RSS

Kalamazoo Book Giveaway!

04 Apr

You know how it is – you’re in a used bookstore, you see something you’re interested in, you buy it – then you get home and find out you already have it. I did that with two books over the past couple of months and, being the brilliant person that I am (though evidently not brilliant enough to avoid buying a book I already have), I’ve decided the best thing to do would be to give them away to someone who’ll be at K’zoo.

Neither of these books are all that expensive, exclusive or anything but maybe someone will want a free copy. Here are the details.

William Rufus by Frank Barlow. Published in 1983 by the University of California Press. This is the hardcover edition and part of the English Monarchs Series (this book doesn’t say “Yale” English Monarchs but the Pb, issued in 2000, does). The book’s in good shape and has a dust cover. Pages are a bit yellow with normal wear – dust cover is minimally tattered but still pretty good. The binding is sound.

The Philokalia, Volume 1: The Complete Text; Compiled by St. Nikodimos of the Holy Mountain & St. Markarios of Corinth Translated and edited by G.E.H. Palmer, Philip Sherrard and Kallistos Ware. Published by Faber Paperbacks in 1983, first published in hardcover in 1979. This book’s a paperback but also in good shape. Minimal wear – it looks like it’s been opened several times but the binding’s in good shape and it has just a couple of scratches on the cover. Of course if someone has 2 copies of Volume 3 and wants to trade, I’d be up for that – I have Volumes 1, 2 and 4.

Here’s how you enter.

1. Be an attendee at the 2010 International Congress on Medieval Studies.

2. Be a student – grad or undergrad. I’m not going to ask for student ID or anything but I figure professors have dept funds and amateurs who are attending should have the cash to buy a couple of $20-$40 books if they need to. I was a starving student once (good thing you could carb up on beer).

3. E-mail me with the following details – the book(s) you want, in order of preference, and some sort of contact info – e-mail would be preferable since I don’t want to run up a big LD charge by calling someone from England or Spain. If you know me from an online site – Facebook, Library Thing, etc., you can send me a message there with the same info.

The contest works like this: I’ll write the name of each entrant on a slip of paper. Over the weekend of May 1 when one of my bum friends who’ll work for food comes over (no lie – they help me do something around here and I buy pizza and beer – the dinner of champions) I’ll have him or her draw out of a hat (or a big saucepan if I get hundreds of responses). I’ll e-mail (hopefully – see above) the winners with my cell number and sometime at K’zoo you call me and we’ll arrange the handover. Also, you must be willing to have your name posted here as a winner – I’m not e-mailing everyone who doesn’t win – they can read it here.

My e-mail (hopefully the spammers won’t pick it up but I’ll use my powers of deception) is this embedded link.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 4, 2010 in Books

 

Tags:

One response to “Kalamazoo Book Giveaway!

  1. theswain

    April 4, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    OOOOOOOO! OOOOOOO! William Rufus!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
