RSS

And I Will Sell My Soul for Books

05 Jul

This is somewhat a “yes I’m still blogging (or wanting to) – just have nothing to say right now” post. Still alive, still very busy with my job and still planning to re-join the world in a month or so. Though I’ve been reading a LOT on 1st century BC Rome – the Social and Civil Wars. And not taking extensive notes (though I probably should).

As an introspection into a personal character flaw – I am such a book-slut. I don’t mean to be. I try to control myself. But they lure me in – coquettishly beckoning to me with their covers, prefaces and alluring terminology such as, “This book explores the situation of the non-elite living in Gaul during the late fifth and sixth centuries.”

I may have mentioned that I bought a few books at Kalamazoo in May. My to-read stack is ponderous. I have a list to check-out from my University library. I (mis)use a budget. I wasn’t going to buy anything more until at least this fall.

And here I am – just bought Matthew Innes’, State and Society in the Early Middle Ages. The Middle Rhine Valley, 400-1000 Allen Jones’, Social Mobility in Late Antique Gaul: Strategies and Opportunities for the Non-Elite and Wendy Davies’ and Paul Fouracre’s The Settlement of Disputes in Early Medieval Europe.

At least in about 3 weeks my reading time should open up and I can set aside ancient Rome and go back to reading 4th-7th century stuff. But I wasn’t going to do this. For some reason, if I go about 6-8 weeks without attacking my wish list I start to suffer withdrawal – and all it takes is a 20% off Barnes & Noble coupon to kick me off the wagon.

There should be a program.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2010 in Books

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “And I Will Sell My Soul for Books

  1. Jonathan Jarrett

    July 6, 2010 at 11:41 am

    Well, if it's any comfort, both Innes and Davies & Fouracre are books that not just I but numerous early medievalists have found absolutely eye-opening and which deeply inflect my work, so I reckon you've done well there. The other may be as good but I don't know it.With Leeds just coming up I suspect I'm going to do something similar. There was a lot of stuff I didn't buy at Kalamazoo mainly because I knew I'd see it again, possibly cheaper and certainly cheaper to carry back, two months thence…

     
  2. Medieval History Geek

    July 7, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Jones is a bit earlier than your period but you can read this from The Medieval Review. I worry a bit about the effort to create a model based on what may be scanty evidence but we'll see if he has enough to make it work. The promise of closely examining the evidence is what does it for me. Too many books – as always. I really want Alice Rio's new book on formularies but that's a bit too rich for me right now.If I like Davies and Fouracre on this one, Property and Power is next. The slightly embarrassing note is that Purdue has 2 copies of Innes, both available for check-out. But I see it referenced so frequently that I think it needs a home on my shelves. Have fun at Siena – Chaucer eh? I imagine the blogging panel will be very interesting – Dr. Trigg certainly recruited some good blog authors for it.

     
  3. Jonathan Jarrett

    July 7, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Yeah, I oughtn't to sound unenthusiastic, but the registration fee for Siena came as a bit of a shock. Leaving aside travel and accommodation, I'm paying $247 to talk for ten minutes on a subject that's nothing to do with either my research or the conference-goers… I'm not quite sure how this seemed like a good idea. But I'm still doing it, and hopefully I can get Chaucer to sign a copy of his book too.Property and Power is good too, but doesn't have the same unity. I don't think it hit so many so hard as Settlement did. Professor Davies insists the third volume will be out in a reasonably near future…

     
  4. Medieval History Geek

    July 8, 2010 at 2:45 am

    That is a bit steep. It never hurts to get your name out there but still. When I first started out – working, not the Medieval hobby – I was naive enough to think registration fees should be waived for presenters. I hadn't gone to many professional conferences before I realized that meant they'd be waiving fees for at least half of the attendees.

     
  5. Pam T

    July 9, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Odd, but you never hear complaints about book-addiction. Well… except from people who lend books and never see them again. And I have an admission, Curt. I've been reading early American history. In the closet, of course.Glad to see you posting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
