RSS

Labels have Landed me in Hell

20 Nov

A few days ago I noticed that someone had tried to use the search feature on this blog and it hadn’t worked very well. For whatever reason, I was under the illusion that the Google Search option would pick from my labels first. It doesn’t – it does what Google does everywhere else and searches for terms in posts. How I managed to forget this basic fact is another question. When I’m on someone else’s blog sometimes I click on the labels (or tags) included at the end of the post and see where it takes me. I’ve noticed some blogs where the labels are on the sidebar and thought that would be a useful thing to add here. Then I found I had 172 labels. I took one quick glance at those sitting in a seemingly interminable line down one side of the page and quickly killed that option.

This has landed me in Hell (see below) – I’m a label-glutton. I shall try to do better (though I’m fairly certain I said I thought I’d likely repeat my sins on the Hell-survey) and if I can figure out how to delete, say, 130 of those, I’ll try to add it back.

Thanks to Jonathan Jarrett for pointing out this little exercise. Or maybe not – in only making it to the third level I’m minor league next to him. Of course I did rate Very High in two categories and high in another two. I’m evidently a very sinful person.

The Dante’s Inferno Test has banished you to the Third Level of Hell!
Here is how you matched up against all the levels:

Level Score
Purgatory (Repenting Believers) Very Low
Level 1 – Limbo (Virtuous Non-Believers) Low
Level 2 (Lustful) Very High
Level 3 (Gluttonous) Very High
Level 4 (Prodigal and Avaricious) Moderate
Level 5 (Wrathful and Gloomy) Moderate
Level 6 – The City of Dis (Heretics) High
Level 7 (Violent) Moderate
Level 8- the Malebolge (Fraudulent, Malicious, Panderers) High
Level 9 – Cocytus (Treacherous) Low

Take the Dante’s Inferno Hell Test

I’m currently on vacation for Thanksgiving so gluttony is perhaps appropriate. In any case, don’t any expect new posts here for a week or so.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2010 in Humor and Games

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Labels have Landed me in Hell

  1. Jonathan Jarrett

    November 22, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Every time someone posts this link I feel I have to check my thinning hair for incipient horns. The whole thing doesn't give much scope for repentance. Still it's good to know one excels at something.I intend some day to do the same exercise with the tags on my blog, this being what WordPress calls them. I have far too many and a number of them duplicate each other. Just hacking and slashing through them is one thing; but the conscientious way to do it would be to stick the right ones onto the affected posts as I go, and that's the kind of endeavour that will likely never actually happen.

     
  2. Medieval History Geek

    November 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Before I posted this I tried to select a limited number of labels to display. I got rid of all the "cutesy" ones like humor, games, Chaucer blogger, etc. and kept only those dealing with a medieval topic (including books) and proper names of someone I mentioned. That left me with 104. Clearly this will take some effort. Or I may say the heck with it and decide you can't take 1200 years across 3 continents and expect 30 terms to cover much of anything.

     
  3. Gabriele C.

    December 11, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    I already had some 200 posts when the label feature was introduced and I didn't feel like going back and adding labels, so I stick to my sidebar archives which have become scarily long by now. :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
