RSS

Medieval Conferences

23 Jan

I’ve been gone most of the past week to a professional conference and haven’t had time even to log onto my computer, let alone post anything. There have been announcements from a couple of medieval conferences during the past couple of weeks. I thought I’d throw something in here in case you haven’t seen them elsewhere.

I didn’t realize the schedule for the International Conference on Medieval Studies was up until I read it on Michelle Ziegler’s blog, Heavenfield. As I may have mentioned a time or two, I love this conf. To be honest, I think about 80% of my medieval geekiness comes from it. I’m going to restrain myself, mainly because I expect I’ll expose everyone to this aspect of my personality once I register in a couple of weeks. For anyone who is interested, you can find out more than you probably want to know about this on my Kalamazoo page. The 2011 ICMS will be held May 12-15.

I haven’t had a chance to completely read through the program but I noticed that Jonathan Jarrett will be presenting again this year as will Michelle and I’m sure there are others which I’ll mention once I have the chance to really look it over.

About a week ago an e-mail that the schedule and program (er, programme? – probably the protocol would be to write everything in the English version, particularly since they sort of invented the language but I’m writing in the US) for The International Medieval Congress held in Leeds, July 11-14, was posted to the mediev-l mailing list.

I got a serious case of Conference envy when I read through this. In particular, the Late Antiquity Strand (we call those “tracks” at conferences here) looks terrific. Guy Halsall has organized four sessions, “Beyond the Invasion Narrative” that look to be extremely interesting. I really appreciate the way they organize things by thematic strands. It makes it much easier to find sessions of interest than the way I do it with Kalamazoo which is pretty much to read through the whole program (though the list of participants at the end is a useful tool). I’m going to make it to Leeds at least once before I die. Unfortunately, I doubt it happens before I retire so don’t expect to read anything about it on this blog for another 15-20 years or so.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in Conferences

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Medieval Conferences

  1. Jonathan Jarrett

    January 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Jonathan Jarrett will be presenting again this yearYup, Sunday morning again, sorry about that…Guy's sessions at Leeds look really exciting, I am going to have to fight to make those.

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    January 25, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    I thought about mentioning that but decided that was pretty much obvious. Anyway, I'm glad you're coming over here to visit – you need someone to give you a ride to buy some soap, tea, or a lock to install on the bathroom door, let me know. ;)

     
  3. Jonathan Jarrett

    February 1, 2011 at 12:53 am

    I may try and find some field tea-brewing kit to bring with me :-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
