RSS

I Missed "IT"

01 Apr

You may wonder why I capitalized “it.” And put it in quotes – twice. Evidently, today is International Hug a Medievalist Day. I’m uncertain why such an event was not listed in the little calendar I bought for about 3 bucks that I carry around in my shirt pocket (no namby-pamby PDA for me!) but it’s been making its way through blogs. Well, a few of them anyway. There’s even a Facebook page celebrating this grand event with, at latest count, 4,574 attending.

I’m not a medievalist (IMO a medievalist is someone who makes their living, even a pitifully small portion of it, from medieval history – I haven’t decided what this makes undergrads) but I did manage to get a hug today, for a completely non-medieval reason. I didn’t find a medievalist to hug which is unsurprising since if one lives in my community, I don’t know of him or her however if the opportunity presents itself, I encourage you all to take advantage of the occasion.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Humor and Games

 

Tags:

One response to “I Missed "IT"

  1. Alexandra

    April 1, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    Ha! Macy Halford writes an inspiring description of medievalists. Accept your hug, sir, just with the caveat that you are only accepting it for fun and not from a position of tenure or authority. :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
