RSS

Kalamazoo Friday Update

14 May

Since I realized that my Live Blog concept may not work so well with how followers, folks receiving this via e-mail/RSS, etc., are notified of new posts, here’s a quick Friday update.

Now I was ready to throw something up yesterday but blogger crashed so this one may be a bit longer than usual. For the most part, I’ve been going to sessions on Hagiography. Whole lotta papers on dead Holy People. It’s been good, especially since I sort of know what folks are talking about there. Interestingly, not one of the sessions has had anything to do with Gregory of Tours.

As usual, I’ve been buying books. I’m not sure exactly what the final count will be but I’m afraid it will top last year’s haul, which I thought was impossible. It’s all Ashgate’s and Cambridge’s fault – 50% off all HC’s.

Yup – those are books on a desk in my room. Over 40 of ’em. And I have another 20 to pick up tomorrow. And some to be shipped.

Went to the blogger meetup this morning. There are some seriously cool people blogging. I had a good time. I’ve also run into a couple of other people and not run into some folks I usually see. That’s the way this goes, pretty much every year. I’ll fill in the particulars post-K’zoo.

Enough for now. I’ve been invited to meet some people at Bilbo’s tonight but I’m not going since I may actually make my first K’zoo dance since 2001 (or was it 2000?) tomorrow. No guarantees though. I’m still emotionally scarred from 10 years ago.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2011 in Books, Conferences

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Kalamazoo Friday Update

  1. Gabriele C.

    May 15, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    Ohh, what goodies are in those bags? :)

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    May 15, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Er, my ability to eat out for the next 6 months?Gotta admit though, I got some books I never thought I'd own. Granted, $60 is still a lot for a book, but not when its original price was $120.

     

Leave a Reply

 
