RSS

Kalamazoo: The Books

15 May

For me, Kalamazoo is about three things; the sessions, the people, and the books. I’m too tired to dive into the first two topics right now so let me give you the story on the books.

I came home with 63 more books than I left with. I was careful how I balanced the car out in loading them (that was altered a bit right before I left but not much) since I didn’t want to have a rollover going into a turn. I also have 4 to be shipped. Last year I thought the 60 I picked up was an anomaly – previous years I had always been in the 25-40 range. Well, in the 60’s may be the new normal. Once I get my cc statement I may need to come up with a new strategery. This could be scary – then again, I’m going to Michigan instead of on a Caribbean Cruise for vacation (my winter vacay’s relatively inexpensive) so if I spend that amount on books, so what? 1

Though I picked up some seriously good books this year. As I mentioned before, the 50% off from Ashgate and Cambridge meant I picked up some I never thought I’d own. And 38 were from my wishlist. I didn’t do a lot of wild buying. Of course my wishlist is still over 700 . . . In the long run, I’m going to like having bought these but I’m not sure I’ll care for the price. And my “to read” list just went from about 80 to 140.

I do not know how much access non-members have to LibraryThing but if it lets you, you can go to my profile page and see what I bought. Under tags click on “see all tags” and once that page opens, click on the link titled, “ICMS 2011.”

Here’s a picture of this year’s damage. You can compare it with last year if you like. Now I have to find shelf space.

The 2011 Kalamazoo book haul

1 I have a stock set of phrases I use to justify the amount of money I spend on books. One of my old stand-by’s is, Well, my house is paid off and it’s no more than ___ payments used to be. All of these mean, in essence, “It’s my money and I’ll spend it how I like, thank you very much.” However I would welcome any other rationalizations anyone would like to offer as my phraseology toolkit for this is becoming a bit worn. If nothing else, I’d like something new for my gf when she starts picking on me about it. ;)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in Books, Conferences

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Kalamazoo: The Books

  1. theswain

    May 18, 2011 at 1:06 am

    I'm sure I know a place for a review or two of that new haul.

     
  2. Medieval History Geek

    May 18, 2011 at 2:29 am

    Might be able to arrange that Larry – let me know what you have in mind. I have a wide selection. ;)

     
  3. hefenfelth

    May 19, 2011 at 4:51 am

    So do you think you can do 63 book reviews before Kalamazoo next year? It was good to finally meet you in person this year!

     
  4. Medieval History Geek

    May 19, 2011 at 2:42 pm

    Hey Michelle – it was great meeting you too.I highly doubt I can get 63 books read, much less reviewed in a year – though I did read 72 last year. My time's been a lot tighter. I think I'm sitting at around 20 books read for 2011.Of course based on some reviews I've read here and there it seems that reading the book may be optional. Does, "Ooh – shiny cover with pretty pictures," count as a review?

     

Leave a Reply

 
