RSS

My Sin is Gluttony

28 Jun

If you’ve been reading this blog a while, you may recall that the above fact has been established already. Problem is, at the time I believed I was hogging labels. It took this weekend for me to realize it’s books.

I’m not sure why it took me so long to figure it out. It’s not like there hasn’t been ample evidence of this before now. Even my moments of control lack, er, control.

What with the K’zoo binge I felt embarrassed to mention this before but it’s time to fess up. Not long after getting back from Kalamazoo I received a 50% off coupon from Borders. I seriously considered ignoring it but since I’m posting this, you know how that worked out. Anyway, I bought Alice Rio’s Legal Practice and the Written Word in the Early Middle Ages: Frankish Formulae, c. 500-1000. Ever since I read her first formulary book I’ve had this targeted and the chance to get it for half price was too good to pass up. 1

So a couple of weeks pass by and another Borders coupon appears, this one for 40% off. I think I may have even waited a day before giving in and buying James T. Palmer’s Anglo-Saxons in a Frankish World, 690-900. It wasn’t too long before another coupon, this time for 30% off, appeared. You see where this is going?

Except I drew the line and didn’t bite at 30%. See? I can be strong. Problem is, this weekend another 40% off coupon showed up. This time I bought The Rhetoric of Power in Late Antiquity: Religion and Politics in Byzantium, Europe and the Early Islamic World, edited by Elizabeth Digeser. After this I opened the three catalogs that have come in the mail over the past month. Two were no problem; just a couple more added to the wishlist. Unfortunately, the Oxford University Press one was for their spring sale. This one didn’t quite match my experience with their last sale but I still ended up buying Readers and Reading Culture in the High Roman Empire: A Study of Elite Communities by William Johnson.

So even though I saved a bunch of money, in essence I ended up buying four books (good ones though!) when I don’t think I’m running out of literary material any time soon. And it clinches my need to buy a new bookcase this weekend.

I seriously think publishers who will be at Leeds would make out very nicely if they decided to pay half my way there. Pretty sure I’d make it worth their while.

1 At Kalamazoo in 2009 I picked up Rio’s The Formularies of Angers and Marculf: Two Merovingian Legal Handbooks, Liverpool: Liverpool University Press (2008). ISBN: 9-781846-311598. Good book and in a different price category than these others. I recommend it.

Digeser, Elizabeth DePalma, ed., The Rhetoric of Power in Late Antiquity: Religion and Politics in Byzantium, Europe and the Early Islamic World, London: Tauris Academic Studies (2011). ISBN: 978-1848854093.

Johnson, William A., Readers and Reading Culture in the High Roman Empire: A Study of Elite Communities, Oxford: Oxford University Press (2010). ISBN: 978-0195176407

Palmer, James T., Anglo-Saxons in a Frankish World, 690-900, Turnhout: Brepols (2009). ISBN: 9-782503-519111.

Rio, Alice, Legal Practice and the Written Word in the Early Middle Ages: Frankish Formulae, c. 500-1000, Cambridge: Cambridge University Press (2009). ISBN: 9-780521-514996

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in Books

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “My Sin is Gluttony

  1. Michelle Ziegler

    June 28, 2011 at 2:41 am

    But just think about how much the airline fees would be to bring all those books back on the plane. I take it you are buying at Borders online because my Borders isn't that well stocked.

     
  2. Medieval History Geek

    June 28, 2011 at 2:47 am

    Yes, I think transcontinental shipping might want to chip in on my trip. And the bookshops? I might end up taking out a mortgage.Borders has seriously beefed up their online selection recently. Even a year ago they rarely had the kind of books I want. B&N and, obviously, Amazon had much more. They've picked it up lately.The stores aren't much. Except for the week in the fall where they have an in-store educator sale, I haven't bought off their shelves (or B&N's) in years.

     

Leave a Reply

 
