RSS

This Will Sound Familiar

30 Oct

At least it will if you’ve been reading this blog for any period of time.

I did a search for a reference cited in something I read which led to a horrible confluence of events which may require my buying another bookcase tomorrow. I don’t want to come across as pushing any commercial sites but let’s just say that if you go to the Oxbow Books/David Brown Book Company and start looking at their bargains and special offers, be very careful.

Though I got some seriously cool stuff.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2011 in Books

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “This Will Sound Familiar

  1. Lucas

    November 1, 2011 at 12:44 am

    They have a great selection of stuff that is often obscure and hard to find, and the prices are good. The shipping costs, on the other hand, are hefty.

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    November 1, 2011 at 3:12 am

    Yup – shipping was over 10% of my final bill but when two of the books were listed by their publisher (I checked – just to be sure they weren't blowing smoke) at $120 and I got 'em for $15 each …It was like an electronic Kalamazoo experience.

     
  3. Lucas

    November 1, 2011 at 2:44 pm

    I've never been to a conference where books are sold. Are the prices normally quite good? Are the publishers themselves there?

     
  4. Curt Emanuel

    November 1, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Yup – at the very least discounted 20%. At Kalamazoo all Ashgate and Cambridge hardcovers were 50%. The major publishers each have a free wine reception where the publishers hobnob with potential authors. Some hobnobbing goes on in the exhibit area too but the serious stuff usually gets done after dark.There's also the last-day discount – Sunday AM the prices really drop. And if you visit the Indies and buy a few Sunday they sometimes throw in a free book or two.I can't speak for any of this with Brill. I don't go to their exhibit because all I'd do is stand there and cry. ;) Even with 50% off I don't think I'm buying any of theirs.

     

Leave a Reply

 
