RSS

Kalamazoo on the Blogs

16 May

Last year I saw relatively few bloggers posting about Kalamazoo. This year they’re all over the place. This page will be my attempt to provide a list of bloggers who have posted about the 2012 International Congress on Medieval Studies and who have described something about it, beyond simply, “I was there.” As I’m posting this just three days after Congress I think it’s pretty safe to say that I’ll be adding more links. Also, if I link to a blog post about Kalamazoo and that blogger adds additional posts, I won’t add all of their links (I don’t think – if I change my mind this sentence will disappear). If you know of a blogger posting about K’zoo and I haven’t included it here, feel free to either e-mail me or post a comment. The same goes if I’ve posted a link to your blog and you’d prefer I remove it.

Medievalists.net made their initial K’zoo post here and mention there may be more. I wonder if they’ll describe how they were featured at the Pseudo Society Session?

At Modern Medieval Matthew Gabriele provides his contribution to a BABEL Panel, “Against the 19th Century: A Mini-Manifesto.”

Notorious PhD posted about a strange encounter she had at this year’s Congress. I think I may throw a post in sometime about how I approach Medievalists with suggestions.

JJ Cohen discusses his Kalamazoo experience on the group blog, In the Middle. Because this is a group blog I will try to provide a link to a K’zoo post from each individual blog author as they appear.

On Grateful to the Dead, Chris Armstrong posted his Congress Paper, “C S Lewis: The classical and medieval resonances of his moral teachings.”

Historian on the Edge posted his paper from a BABEL Session (I really need to get to these), “History and Commitment: A Miniature Manifesto.”

Steve Muhlberger posted a couple of links from BABEL Session papers, including the one from H.O.T.E.

Jonathan Hsy guest posted about Kalamazoo on In the Middle.

From a new blog, for me, Bachanal in the Library discussed his first Kalamazoo experience.

Michelle Ziegler of Heavenfield and Contagions provides a summary of her Kalamazoo experience.

Jonathan Hsy just shared a post from James Smith of Australia where he talks about his Kalamazoo experience on his blog, Fluid Imaginings.

I hardly ever come across LiveJournal Blogs for some reason, I really don’t know why, but here’s what looks to be the final Kalamazoo Post from The Rose Garden. Heather Rose Jones was live blogging from Kalamazoo – I mean posting about sessions pretty much as they happened. And she has a bunch of ’em. I’m in awe.

Charlie Rozier at Rozier Historian offers a few Kalamazoo observations.

Jonathan Hsy also shared a post by Anne from Medieval Meets World. This post is less about the events of Congress than its spirit. It’s a different way of looking at Kalamazoo, at least for me.

In the Middle’s Eileen Joy authored a lengthy post in which she provides a summary of the Exemplaria Roundtable (Session 12) as well as her perspective on some issues related to Medieval Studies as a discipline and as a profession.

Jim Tigwell, another individual whose blog was previously unknown to me, posted some of his thoughts.

Megan Arnott from The Society for the Public Understanding of the Middle Ages posted a summary of their Kalamazoo session.

MEARCSTAPA, the Medieval Monster Group, (I’m not gonna try to type that out) posted a quick summary of their two sessions.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2012 in Conferences, Other Blogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “Kalamazoo on the Blogs

  1. Jonathan H

    May 17, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Hello Curt: Thanks for providing the link to my post on ITM and these other Kalamazoo blog postings. It’s great to see what other folks have to say. You really should make it to some BABEL sessions next time around! It would be great to see you.

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    May 17, 2012 at 11:18 am

    Jonathan, No problem and I appreciate you posting about your experience.

    Kalamazoo is so big that there’s no way to keep up on everything that’s going on. That’s true even with reading blog posts but the more of these that people put up, the better sense folks can get of it, whether they attended or not.

     
  3. Karen Schousboe

    May 20, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Care to expand on this? “Medievalists.net made their initial K’zoo post here and mention there may be more. I wonder if they’ll describe how they were featured at the Pseudo Society Session?”

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      May 20, 2012 at 8:35 am

      There’s not a lot to expand on. There was a “paper” by Elan Justice Pavlinich on “Who’s Who and What’s Hot among Dark Age Academics.” They were among those featured which was funny and they were in the audience, which was funnier.

       
      • Karen Schousboe

        May 20, 2012 at 9:51 am

        How funny… because they are a communication site or?

         
  4. Curt Emanuel

    May 20, 2012 at 7:42 pm

    I imagine because they thought enough people would know them that it would be funny but I really couldn’t say for sure.

     
  5. Peter Konieczny

    October 7, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    It was actually a big surprise for us for Elan to do that – he is friends with Sandra, but he kept all that a secret. Sandra had wanted to sit in the front row anyways, so she was very embarrassed, but it was really funny.

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      October 14, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      He was very good. Pseudo’s always fun and even more when folks can laugh at each other. I think it was last year where Caroline Walker Bynum had a starring role.

       

Leave a Reply

 
