RSS

Kalamazoo Page Update and a Now Familiar Problem With Books

29 Dec

I just updated my Kalamazoo Page to add all of my 2012 posts under one roof.

I also bought a couple more books on 1st-century Christianity. This stuff’s interesting. I’m gonna have to work at tearing myself away from it. I have half a dozen or so volumes on this and you’d think that would be enough but evidently it isn’t.

In order to remind myself of what I’m really into, I have an idea for a post about Visigothic Churches, based on a Journal of Early Christian Studies article. But I overdid it shoveling snow the other day so it’ll have to wait a bit while I spend most of today lying down with a heating pad on my back. Getting old sucks, but it beats the alternative.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2012 in Books, Conferences

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Kalamazoo Page Update and a Now Familiar Problem With Books

  1. Larry Swain

    January 4, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    I don’t have any time to read in this field now, so would love to see your booklist, and look forward to your posts! Just saw your “Reading” list on the bar on the left….I see you already know the Ehrman book I mentioned last comment. Love the Blowers book, good essays in there; and Wilken I think must reading. In fact, maybe I’ll try and go back and see that one.

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    January 5, 2013 at 11:40 am

    I ordered the two-volume Apocrypha Set by Schneemelcher (link to volume 1) and Ehrman’s, The New Testament: A Historical Introduction to the Early Christian Writings, Fifth edition, Oxford (2012). ISBN: 978-0-19-975753-4.

    I have a lot of Ehrman. He must be used a lot as a text as his books show up all the time in used bookstores. For a beginner, I enjoy his writing style and find him interesting. My one knock is he constantly references his own stuff. Nothing extremely bad about that as he’s written a lot on it but if we’re talking about, say, Gnostics, you’d think he’d mention Pagels or Robinson.

     

Leave a Reply

 
