RSS

2013 Congress Registration Up and Book Buying II

03 Feb

I really must update my Book Buying Posts. I’ve made way more than two of these but didn’t decide to number them until recently.

In any case, the first part of this post is to mention that the online registration for the 2013 International Congress on Medieval Studies to be held May 9-12 in Kalamazoo, Michigan, is now open. And yes, I was almost weepy when I saw this. Chances are good I won’t make it this year. I won’t know for sure until April and my attendance is possible, but unlikely. Still, I’ve had a run of 4 years straight, the best I’ve done since I started attending back in 2001.

In order to make this up to myself I just bought six books from an Oxford University Press Sale. Only one of those was something I’d previously wishlisted but I bought all of them at 50% or 65% off. Not bad.

Here’s the list:


  • Architects of Piety: The Cappadocian Fathers and the Cult of the Martyrs by Vasiliki Limberis (this was my wishlisted book)
  • Jesus: Apocalyptic Prophet of the New Millennium by Bart D. Ehrman
  • Foreign Cults in Rome: Creating a Roman Empire by Eric Orlin
  • The Stabilization of Rabbinic Culture, 100 C.E. – 350 C.E.: Texts on Education and Their Late Antique Context by Marc Hirshman
  • The Search for the Origins of Christian Worship: Sources and Methods for the Study of Early Liturgy by Paul F. Bradshaw
  • Perfect Martyr: The Stoning of Stephen and the Construction of Christian Identity by Shelly Matthews

My version of comfort food.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2013 in Books, Conferences

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “2013 Congress Registration Up and Book Buying II

  1. peedeel

    February 4, 2013 at 4:53 am

    They should keep you occupied for a little while, Curt! The Ehrman book is good, very robust arguments for Christ as an apocalyptic prophet…predicting the end of days within a thirty year time scale, a sort of “Apocalypse Now” but without the helicopters. I’m currently reading Ehrman’s “The Lost Gospel of Judas Iscariot: A New Look at Betrayer and Betrayed” and finding it very interesting.

    All the best.

    Peter

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    February 5, 2013 at 6:50 am

    Thanks for your comment Peter.

    I’ve read several of Ehrman’s books and after a while he starts repeating himself but for the price it’ll be OK. His stuff keeps showing up in used bookstores so he must be a popular college textbook author. Jesus is pretty obviously apocalyptic; the Gospels and Paul’s letters are good evidence for this (or at least that he was portrayed that way within a few decades of his death and I’m unconvinced by theories that this is largely an invention of those writers).

    It gets really interesting when you look at him among the other apocalyptic prophets of the period. Josephus mentions several of them. First century Jewish culture was very open to folks preaching this message which has implications for how they(some of them anyway) viewed themselves during the period. It likely also has a lot of implications for later Jewish cultural developments but I’m not sure I’m going to read enough on this to get a good handle on it, though the Hirshman book will likely cover it.

     
  3. Nathaniel M. Campbell

    February 6, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    I’ll be sorry if you can’t make it! I’m presenting a paper during the Thursday 1:30 pm sessions (Session 94: Hildegard von Bingen: Bridges to Infinity), titled, “‘Imago expandit splendorem suum’: Hildegard of Bingen’s Visio-Theological Designs in the Rupertsberg Scivias Manuscript.”

     
  4. Curt Emanuel

    February 8, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    I’ll be sorry to miss you. I have some stuff on Hildegard but it keeps getting pushed back on the shelf. I’ll read it eventually. Hikldegard’s visions certainly generate a lot of discussion. I bet it’s an interesting topic.

     
  5. Larry Swain

    April 29, 2013 at 4:12 am

    I’d like to discuss your take on Ehrman’s book…well, more fairly on the Apocalyptic Jesus. Frankly, I think the case for Jesus as Apocalyptic prophet very overstated.

     
  6. Curt Emanuel

    May 4, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Hey Larry,

    I think the key question here is whether your disagreement is over how apocalyptic he actually was vs how apocalyptic he was portrayed, even shortly after his death. I think you can make a very strong argument for the first but the second is tougher.

    Enjoy Kalamazoo. I’m sorry I won’t be there.

     

Leave a Reply

 
