RSS

A Few Kalamazoo Thoughts

27 Apr

I’m recently back from a conference in DC which confirms what I’d strongly suspected; that I will not be attending Kalamazoo this year. I’ve made the last four in a row, a personal record, and hopefully I’ll make it in 2014. Booksellers, don’t go into mourning or anything, I’m still buying, just not in that kind of bulk quantity.

I had time to visit the Holocaust Museum and then Gettysburg on my way back but neither of those are remotely medieval. Instead, for those of you attending Kalamazoo for the first time, I’ll point you to my pre-2012 post which includes some tips and links to more comprehensive, earlier comments. As usual, there are a couple of significant edits. First, Wi-Fi was available in most of the dorm rooms last year and the snack bar in Schneider was open through Saturday. Not to say that the selection is great but you can ingest calories.

Of course if you want to read more than you could ever want, there’s my main Kalamazoo page which has quite a few posts covering the last three years.

Hopefully I’ll get back to more regular posting soon but no promises. Things are a bit crazy right now, though it’s a good sort of crazy.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2013 in Conferences

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “A Few Kalamazoo Thoughts

  1. Larry Swain

    April 27, 2013 at 7:22 pm

    Say it is not so, my friend! You shall be missed.

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      April 27, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      Hey Larry – I imagine I’ll miss Kalamazoo more than it’ll miss me. I was pretty sure going into a conference with a bunch of Feds that it would result in a lot of work and I wasn’t disappointed. This is actually a good thing with an unfortunate side effect. Have fun there. I’ll enjoy reading everyone’s write-ups.

       
  2. Kathleen Neal

    April 27, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    Sympathy Curt! I can’t make it this time either. :-( Maybe next year will be the one… although since I will be gainfully employed and teaching in (Australian) first semester, I’ll quite likely be unable to get away. We are in full undergraduate swing throughout May, and I speak from experience when I say it’s hard to go long distance with a 14 hour time difference for a weekend and make it worth it!

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      April 28, 2013 at 6:17 am

      I can certainly sympathize with the time change/flip. I’d think you’d want to make a week of it at least. I don’t understand how those who fly do it anyway unless they bring a spare empty bag for books. One day I’ll make Leeds and have to figure that out for myself.

       
      • Kathleen Neal

        April 29, 2013 at 7:47 pm

        Yes do! Although do make a week of it. I recommend the advance excursions on the day before the meeting starts – always a nice way to shake the jetlag.

         
  3. Historian on the Edge

    April 28, 2013 at 10:45 am

    I’ll miss seeing you, but glad things are ‘crazy in a good way’!

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      April 28, 2013 at 5:53 pm

      I didn’t realize you were coming over again this year. I’m sorry to miss you but I’ll catch you another time.

       

Leave a Reply

 
