RSS

Versatile Blogger Nominations

03 Jun

versatilebloggernominations

I’ve received these occasionally and generally ignore them but I’ll take this one for two reasons. First is that it doesn’t ask you to link back to a commercial site complete with cookies but all I need to do is post the image. Second, while it’s a chain letter, unlike some of the Facebook or e-mail messages that pop up, it’s harmless and hopefully only has the consequence of increasing traffic to other blogs. I guess I’ll add a third reason; because Michelle Ziegler from Heavenfield nominated me – thanks Michelle!

I’ve often been told that without rules life is chaos. While I’m not sure how valid that statement is, there are rules for accepting this nomination. These are:


  1. Display the logo
  2. Thank and link back to your nominator.
  3. State seven things about yourself.
  4. Nominate 15 other bloggers.
  5. Link back to a specific blog post on each blog so the blogger is notified.

I try not to talk a lot about me. Though I’ve been told that all writing is, at its core, about the author – or is that a guideline just for fiction? I’m going to stay away from what’s on my About this Blog page. If you think this blog looks interesting, you’ll likely get there eventually.


  1. While I have no history degree or training, while in college I found that I had an affinity towards the social sciences, particularly sociology and anthropology. I have always been fascinated by what makes people be, er, people and why we behave the way we do, particularly in groups. Besides my frustrated ambitions to write fantasy, I think this is why I enjoy history. It’s also why you’ll find very little here about things like how a battle was fought or period clothing. I like the social evolution end of things and while the two previously mentioned examples may be related to social aspects (the French at Agincourt anyone?) these aren’t the topics I tend to gravitate to.
  2. Before I went back for my graduate degree I trained horses professionally for about 7 years. I also did a little rodeo.
  3. This is for those new to this blog. I’m a book fiend. My friends are completely baffled by this. There are jokes out there about women and shoes – well, I don’t know how much truth there is in them but you could sure apply them to me and books.
  4. I’ve never been overseas. My international experiences have been limited to Canada, Mexico, and Honduras(an International Ag Project in college). I absolutely expect that the first year after I retire I’ll make the IMC at Leeds. And it’s likely that this will be part of a month or more in Europe.
  5. In my real job I do a fair amount of GIS work. I’ve idly thought that after I retire I could farm myself out to Independent Scholars to help them with the spatial display of information (most folks associated with colleges likely have someone on staff to help them).
  6. I work for a University but have no teaching or research appointment. My appointment is 100% Extension. The Extension system in the US is located(organizationally) in Agriculture Schools at what are known as Land-Grant Universities. I’m not even going to try to explain it here.
  7. Recently I’ve been doing a lot of work on Emergency and Disaster Preparedness and Response, specifically in Agrosecurity and in a couple of specialties within that.

Now I have to come up with 15 blogs to nominate. I think I’m going to just nominate blogs which I consider interesting and which have been fairly active, without worrying about whether they’ll pass it along. Five of the blogs I’d normally consider have been nominated by Michelle.


  1. Steve Muhlberger of Nipissing University has Muhlberger’s World History Steve is a medieval history professor currently working on various aspects of chivalry along with high and late medieval warfare. When I think of a versatile blogger though, he is the first person who comes to mind as he blogs about current events and social issues as much as he does about history.
  2. Magistra et Mater is a historian in Britain (since she’s in Britain should I type “an historian”?) who has focused her research on studies of early medieval masculinity. She’s not exactly pseudonymous but enough so that I’ll not provide information on her latest book which looks very interesting – pretty sure I’ll be picking up a copy once I start reading about that period.
  3. Not my period but Kathleen Neal is an Australian medievalist who has a great blog, In Thirteenth Century England. The focus of her blog’s pretty self-explanatory but occasionally she ventures into other areas. The post I linked to immediately sent me scrambling to Google to see what kinds of autocompletes I could come up with.
  4. I love Bill Caraher’s The Archaeology of the Mediterranean World blog. He’s an archaeologist from the University of North Dakota and includes a ton of information, including some excellent book reviews.
  5. I recently discovered theculturegirl. I always take a look at the blogs of people who follow me and if I like them, as I did this one, I follow them myself. The author’s a PhD candidate in Medieval History.
  6. I mentioned The Lost Fort in my last post. In addition to writing a lot about (mostly) Medieval Germany (more properly the HRE and surrounding areas) she always includes great pictures.
  7. Viqueen is a very well respected blogger who teaches and does research on the Viking Age and in Old Norse language and literature. Her blog is Norse and Viking Ramblings.
  8. Anglo-Saxon, Norse and Celtic is a blog written by folks from the University of Cambridge.
  9. Another Archaeology blog is Ancient Bodies, Ancient Lives authored by a University of California at Berkely Anthropology Professor.
  10. Chris Armstrong is a Professor of Church History at Bethel Seminary. He has a very interesting blog, Grateful to the Dead. The post I’ve linked to includes the paper he gave this year at Kalamazoo.
  11. I know nothing about the author (this is another blog I found because the author started following mine) but I like Antiquarian’s Attic.
  12. Christian Opitz writes L’Historien Errant. Some very interesting art history posts.
  13. From the Garden to the City is written by a Masters Degree student studying Late Roman History. Our interests mesh and I like this one a lot.
  14. Things Medieval is a group blog whose authors are, mostly, graduate students in history.

I thought I was going to get to 15 but, except for the blogs Michelle mentioned in her post none of the others I wanted to nominate have posted within several months. Guess I’ll be one short.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2013 in Blogology, Other Blogs

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Versatile Blogger Nominations

  1. Kathleen Neal

    June 4, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Thanks for the tap Curt! I don’t know if I’ve got 15 new ones either… will have to think about it!

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      June 4, 2013 at 5:43 am

      I wouldn’t worry too much about it. I’ve received these sort of things before and usually don’t throw my name in the hat but for some reason I did here. The biggest reason is probably just because I had a little time last night. Hope it gets you a little traffic. And that Google post was VERY interesting.

       
  2. E. C. Ambrose

    June 4, 2013 at 6:22 am

    Thanks for this list–I’ll look forward to checking them all out. As an amateur medievalist and author myself, I’m always looking for more resources. Good stuff!

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      June 10, 2013 at 6:34 am

      You’re welcome. I suppose that’s another reason I did this – I hadn’t done a full list of other blogs in a while.

       
  3. HR

    June 10, 2013 at 8:34 am

    You might take a look at this new blog: http://askthepast.blogspot.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
