RSS

Book Buying III

04 Jul

I’ve been good lately. The only books I’ve bought over the past couple of months were from Notre Dame University Press’s Overstock Sale. Part of the reason is that I’ve been very busy at work and haven’t had the chance to read much lately. If you want to know more about what’s taken up most of my recent time you can take a look at this post from my work blog. This activity, along with a new national working group that developed out of an Agrosecurity Conference I was involved with, was a major contributor to my absence from Kalamazoo this year.

So, partly in honor of all of you who are currently surrounded by all those books at Leeds (if I ever attend I’ll need to very carefully check out international shipping rates) and even more because it’s a US holiday and I have time, I decided to spend some money.

As usual, nothing ever goes quite according to plan. I’d bought a few books and decided to check my e-mail – I check my home e-mail rarely, usually only on weekends. In it was an announcement of Oxford University Press’s Summer Sale. You can guess what happened then.

Once the keyboard quit smoking I’d done the following damage (I’m not giving full citations here):


  • Ayres, Lewis, Nicaea and Its Legacy: An Approach to Fourth-Century Trinitarian Theology

  • Connolly, Hugh, Didascalia Apostolorum. There’s a Brepols edition of this by Alistair Stewart-Sykes which looks like it offers superior commentary but it’s also 4 times the price.

  • Hunt, Emily, Christianity in the Second Century: The Case of Tatian

  • Moreira, Isabel, Heaven’s Purge: Purgatory in Late Antiquity

  • Morgan, Gwyn, 69 A.D.: The Year of Four Emperors

  • Osiek, Carolyn, A Woman’s Place: House Churches In Earliest Christianity

  • Parvis, Sara, Irenaeus: Life, Scripture, Legacy

  • Peters, F.E., Jesus and Muhammad: Parallel Tracks, Parallel Lives

The danger’s not entirely over. I have an e-mail from David Brown(Oxbow) books about new book bargains. I haven’t clicked on the link yet. I suppose that compared with what I usually pull off at Kalamazoo this is pretty mild.

Hopefully a post on Irenaeus is forthcoming. I’ve started it but am struggling with keeping it to a reasonable length.

EDIT: Guess I should have waited to post this. Anyway, I added four more from David Brown.


  • Elliott, J.K., The Apocryphal Jesus: Legends of the Early Church

  • Otto of Freising, Charles Mierow, trans., The Two Cities

  • Pestell, Tim, Landscapes of Monastic Foundation: The Establishment of Religious Houses in East Anglia, c.650-1200

  • Wilson, Stephen, Leaving the Fold: Apostates and Defectors in Antiquity

I think I’m calling it a day, at least for buying books.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 4, 2013 in Books

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
