RSS

This Bugs Me II

05 Jan

I’ve posted before about being a stats geek. Yesterday I received several hits from a site which apparently offers my World Lit Only By Fire Review as a free pdf download. Now I have no problem with someone reposting this review, reblogging it, etc. Heck, this blog is free – I just wish it was a better review. My problem is when I go to a site and in order to get it, you have to click on something titled: Attention, you need to make free Credit Card verification to start download this pdf file.

Beyond the grammar error, I don’t know what sort of cookies this will load on their computer but someone will have the reader’s cc information. If you’re going to give this review(or any of my other material) away – which is fine – give it away. No conditions. I’ve included the text of the link below, without hyperlinking it (had to add a few DOT’s and SLASH’s so WP wouldn’t try to be psychic and make it a hyperlink even though I don’t want it to). And to be fair to the site, today when I click on it the publication title is a karaoke cloud song list. So maybe they’ve already taken it down. But it bugs me anyway.

wwwDOTmuebooksDOTcomSLASHbook-review-a-world-lit-only-by-fire–medieval-history-geek-PDF-225646335DOThtml

I’m planning to put up a Tertullian post about every other day. There will be a delay though as I’m at a conference Monday-Wednesday (fortunately nearby so I can commute) I could time my post releases but I like to create the post, see how it looks on the blog, then make tweaks if something doesn’t read right.

I know, I should have everything 100% proofed and ready to fly when I click “publish.” But I never know quite how it will look until it’s up (I type in my own code so I use the text editor). Plus it’s a friggin’ blog. Anyway, I don’t want to have something up without it being fixed for several hours so it’ll be Thursday at the earliest. I still have three sections to finish on the full post so I’m not sure how many I’ll end up with.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2014 in Blogology

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “This Bugs Me II

  1. seesdifferent

    January 5, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    muebooks looks pretty tempting but also pretty suspicious. Too new to have much evaluation.

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      January 5, 2014 at 7:57 pm

      With the cc requirement I’d sure be uncomfortable. No real reason for it. And they have a special downloader you need to install. To read pdf’s? That has data miner all over it.

       
    • Edward Campbell

      January 10, 2014 at 4:22 pm

      Muebooks. Free, so why do they need by credit card details..?

       
  2. Historian on the Edge

    January 6, 2014 at 8:31 am

    This is absolutely outrageous. a real violation of the trust inherent in blogging.

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      January 6, 2014 at 8:39 am

      It certainly made me unhappy. I don’t mind my stuff being disseminated so long as it’s without conditions. And since it’s a dotcom domain name I have to think it’s a commercial site. I wouldn’t have a problem if a commercial site linked to the blog or a post so it’s not like I have a moral opposition to their enhancing their site by doing so. But this seems to cross some sort of line.

       
  3. tesla

    January 19, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    yes, I agree. Why do they want credit card verification? If not willing to give credit card you need to download their downloader?!? By the time you get to the notice about credit card you have already given your email address. Sounds like a data miner. If you baulk at the credit card thing they have your email address to spam as a consolation prize. I was going to email them to ask about the credit card thing but of course there are no contact details at all on their very plain and basic site.
    One personal rule I have re buying stuff online, is to first see if the company is readily contactable, i.e. email and phone numbers available. Nothing worse than ordering something and it doesn’t turn up and there is no way to contact them to follow it up.
    I learned my lesson by ordering some tooth whitening stuff that my daughter wanted and ended up on a monthly repeat order. Getting out of that one took a lot of effort.

     
  4. Dee Dee

    January 20, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    I just called muebooks at 1-877-747-0005 to let them know that I do not have a credit card and asked them how I could get my FREE book in .pdf format. I was told that muebooks is an online subscription site and having a credit card on record is company policy. When I asked to speak to a supervisor, the girl hung-up on me ~!!! Buyer Beware.

     

Leave a Reply

 
