RSS

Why This Blog May be Quiet and Why I’ll Likely Miss Kalamazoo

09 Mar

I have quite a bit to post about but am having real trouble finding the time, at least to make the kind of posts I want to make. I have a fair amount to write on Origen, though this will not approach the time I spent on Tertullian. I’ve had a draft post on Irenaeus sitting around since last August and I think I may be ready to offer a few thoughts on some of the ways in which ancient philosophy impacted the evolution of Christianity.

There’s a reason for this. I was going to wait until the project was finished and then apologize after the fact but I’ve had a couple of e-mails this week asking me if I would be at Kalamazoo. I’ve been debating my attendance and finally have decided this would be foolish. The reason can be summed up by the following image.

3_7_146

Eventually things will be placed on top of what you see here – wood and shingles and bricks and wires and other stuff. The problem, related to Kalamazoo, is that the house is due to be finished in late May. That means that when Kalamazoo is going on is about the time when I’ll be talking to the builder to finalize things like fixtures in the kitchen and baths, the placement of lights and outlets throughout the house; all of the detail sort of things which I might actually have something to contribute to. If they’d be in the middle of framing or placing trusses it would be a different story but for this I need to be on site.

The problem’s not money, though a Kalamazoo book bill in the thousands probably wouldn’t be the wisest move (considering I just splurged on Oxford’s annual spring sale I wouldn’t let this stop me though) but I need to be here.

When it comes to impacting this blog, as an example, I spent most of yesterday walking through various shops looking at furniture, art, and antiques. I’m not normally an antique-er but I’d like the place to have a bit of character. On finishing this post I’m heading to Indianapolis to visit a home show (technically a flower and patio show but there are plenty of interior booths there too) to look at kitchen and bath items. I’ve sort of decided where I’m going in those areas but nothing’s final until it’s final so I’ll take my plans with me and talk to some folks.

So I apologize both for missing Kalamazoo which really disappoints me, as well as for my expectation that this blog will be relatively quiet for a while. The one consolation I have is that if this is finished by the end of May, I might be able to head to Saint Louis University for their conference in June. We’ll see. There is a possibility of a significant delay (no reason to expect it, but there is always a chance something may come up) which might change my Kalamazoo plans but this is where I’m at right now.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2014 in Not Really Medieval

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Why This Blog May be Quiet and Why I’ll Likely Miss Kalamazoo

  1. Robert Ruda

    March 10, 2014 at 7:10 am

    Thanks for all your blogs. I feel you do the “heavy lifting” for me by reading all the books I don’t (or can’t) have the time to read. Then you are so kind to summarize all the major points made by the writer. Don’t feel you have to apologize for taking a break because you have a well rounded life. We all have lives outside of our interest in history and those lives are making history for someone else to read about many years from now.

     
    • Curt Emanuel

      March 10, 2014 at 12:15 pm

      Thank you Robert. I’m not sure if this was an apology or an explanation, probably a bit of both. I’m glad you enjoy the blog. Curt

       

Leave a Reply

 
