RSS

A Different Sort of Christmas Present

21 Dec

I’ve mentioned before how, after not receiving something I really want for Christmas I typically go splurge on something for myself.

This year’s “present for me” takes this to a whole new level and is something I think I can only really capture through song.

With apologies to Don Gardner.


Every body pauses and stares at me
My walk is a lurch as you can see
I don’t know just who to blame for this catastrophe!
But my one wish on Christmas Eve is as plain as it can be!

All I want for Christmas
is my new left hip,
my new left hip,
see my new left hip!

Gee, if I could only
have my new left hip,
then I could wish you
“Merry Christmas.”

It seems so long since I could climb,
Teotihuacan pyramids!
Gosh oh gee, how happy I’d be,
if I could only saunter

All I want for Christmas
is my new left hip,
my new left hip,
see my new left hip.

Gee, if I could only
have my new left hip,
then I could wish you
“Merry Christmas!”

My office chair is not yet terribly comfortable so posts will have to wait for a bit. I suppose I could move my laptop elsewhere and type something up but at the moment the process of unhooking and hooking up the cables, crawling under the desk to unplug stuff, etc., seems a bit daunting.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2011 in Not Really Medieval

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “A Different Sort of Christmas Present

  1. peedeel

    December 21, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    Here's to a swift recovery, Curt, seasons greetings to you, and thanks for a very interesting Blog.All the best.Peter

     
  2. Curt Emanuel

    December 21, 2011 at 8:02 pm

    Thank you Peter. Things seem to be going relatively well. Not that I'd recommend it as a recreational activity or anything but the surgery/post-op and (so far) recovery hasn't been too bad. Then again, my surgery didn't come after years of arthritis which probably weakens the leg and makes things rougher.Have a good holidays – I continue to be jealous of Boxing Day!

     

Leave a comment